I went away and I didn’t even get a T-shirt

Posted: September 1, 2010 by mcdonaldtaf in Business, Finance, Liverpool FC
Tags: , , , , ,

It has been a difficult few months for me personally as some work matters, which I can’t currently go into, have caused me several complications. As a result my writing, along with some other things, has stalled – for which I apologise to my regular readers. Disappointingly I haven’t been able to write anything for a few months while several business aspects of our club have been brought to the fore including the ‘interest’ of Kenny Huang, amongst others.

So you’d think that my first post in quite a while, against the backdrop of Martin Broughton’s assertion that the club would be sold by the end of August and the media hype surrounding potential suitors, would be one of celebration. One which will carefully, sceptically even, marvel at our fantastic new owners who have removed the debts, started a new stadium and overseen three or four world class acquisitions for the playing squad – at last worthy custodians. In reality though the financial noose around the club’s neck continues to strangle the lifeblood out of us, while three or four good (rather than world class) players have been brought in.

Some things never change I guess. As the transfer window closes Broughton, Purslow et al. can marvel at another profitable period of transfer trading. Meanwhile the manager is already battling against some bad luck and injury worries as Gerrard and Torres continue to try and find a run of prolonged form. It feels like an extension to the end of last season to me.

I have stuck steadfast to my merchandise boycott. When in JJB last week looking for shorts I opted for the Argentina ones at double the price of their Liverpool equivalents. I still look longingly at the new shirts and I cringe when someone passes me wearing one. I’ve always had the new shirts as they’ve been released but Carlsberg are still supporting me and will continue to do so until we have new owners.

So months without writing and here I am back on invincible bastion and nothing has really changed has it? Call me cynical but I wonder if it actually will. With each passing month the Americans seem to cling to ownership of our great club. I mooted at the outset of Broughton arriving that we may be seeing more smoke and mirrors from Hicks and Gillett. I’ve seen nothing to convince me I was wrong yet!

Leave a Reply

