Site Update – January 2011

Posted: January 18, 2011 by mcdonaldtaf in Site News
Tags:

The end of 2010 and early 2011 has been pretty special for Invincible Bastion and rewarding for me personally. The site, which attracted hundreds of visitors per article for most of 2010, now gets thousands of hits on most posts. Some still bomb out but I guess that comes with the territory. The end of 2010 was pretty crappy for me in other areas of my life so it was good to have such a positive end to the year (and start of this) for the site. What follows are some updates for 2011.

POTENTIAL NEW PROJECT: I have an idea (currently being kept under wraps) for a brand new site which is football related. I’d like to launch it at the start of the 2011/12 season and may need some assistance. I think the project is pretty exciting and hopefully something some may want to collaborate with me on. If you are looking for a project and have experience in web-development and/or SQL please drop me an e-mail to jonny_miller_bear@hotmail.com.

INVINCIBLE BASTION: You may have noticed the site is looking a bit different – as in dull and boring! Unfortunately with WordPress you have to pay to fully customize the look and while I’m out of work it is a wee luxury I’m going to have to forgo. Don’t worry though I have plans to develop and expand this blog in the future, once I have an income. In the meantime, while I’ll make some tidying tweaks over the coming days, you’ll have to put up with dull and boring – sorry.

EDIT (19/01/11) I actually found this theme (you should be looking at now) which I think looks ok. Not so dull and boring. Win.

COMING SOON: I will shortly be starting another blog where I shall rant, vent and generally discuss more general business / news / political subjects.

OTHER PLACES TO CATCH MY WORK: I’m also still writing for The Tomkins Times and Well Red Magazine and both will have new posts from me shortly. The posts I write there are not re-produced here and I would strongly recommend both as compulsory reading for LFC fans.

IF YOU HEAR, POINT: Finally, if you do hear of anyone looking for a manager/executive, especially in the Bristol area, please send them to www.georgemcdonald.co.uk.

Comments
  1. Sam Wanjere says:

    All the best Mac and hang in there. YNWA!

  2. Marcus Evans says:

    Hi ,
    Can’t help with web development. I know someone who is cheap – recent graduate in IT Web development. Let me know if you need help.
    I can only empathise. A LFC supporter, scouser, lost job in Oct 2009. Used to be an MD and also looking for management positions anywhere.
    I speak German and have put some clarifications of stories emanating in German Press onto RAWK and football-rumours. Follow You on Twitter as Evm5Times. Spend hours scouring web for jobs, LFC stories and Twitter. So, keep going. Used to be a supplier to Newspaper/Mag printers – what is your area of expertise? My daughter is a journo in London – so if you need help on the web-site; again let me know.
    Finally, met some guy at a Business Link event who was starting up a footy fan web-site. He had £0.5million in backing and was looking for more !! So, if you can do something for a couple of grand – you never know.
    Keep going,
    Cheers
    Marcus

    • mcdonaldtaf says:

      Thanks Marcus. I’ll be looking more for help from people who want a project for the love of the project, if you know what I mean.

      It is difficult out there at the moment, although there has been a flurry of activity for me over past few days. Last year was dire, but I think that was because I was still living in Wales and applying all over. Have a look at http://www.georgemcdonald.co.uk or click the ‘can you help?’ image to the left.

      Hope things work out.

Leave a Reply

